All Good Things

by Riss

“Country first” he said with an affirming nod and my heart skipped a beat.  I looked around to see the faces of 100 others, I could see the glow of America in their eyes, never more proud.  And so it began, 6 months ago, a fight for a cause that was far greater than anything I could have ever imagined.   Shaking the hand of John McCain, was to me, an amazing honor and that hand shake drove me to do all that I could for his campaign and today, I wouldn’t change a thing, well, other than winning obviously.

By the time the concession speech had started, my eyes were filled with tears.  “We fought – we fought as hard as we could. And though we fell short, the failure is mine, not yours.”  You see, an American hero always puts the world on his shoulders to squash any burden.  A man who has given his whole life for this country, even in the eye of defeat, was still able to inspire and keep his head held high.  It took me a few days to come to terms with the loss of the election, not because of Barack Obama, but because I didn’t want the campaign to come to an end.  I didn’t want the feeling of a great fight to end, or the unity it brought into my life by working with people I never would have met otherwise.   The hero in John McCain brought out the best in all of us, and I hope that the people I have met along the way, do not ever forget it.  In life, we win some and we lose some, but what I have taken away from the last 6 months is life changing.  Because of John McCain, I will never give up.  I will stay true to what I believe in and I will always stand up for what I believe in, even if it’s not popular.  I will always be proud to be an American.

With that being said, Barack Obama is our President Elect and although I didn’t vote for him, I am going to embrace him.  He deserves every American’s support.  I want to remind my fellow Americans that we must treat Barack Obama better than the country treated George W. Bush the last 8 years.  When things aren’t perfect or start to go down the toilet we need to stand strong and remember, the President isn’t always to blame.   All sorts of things are going to happen to our country and no President has ever had a perfect presidency.  In my opinion, Barack Obama is jumping in at the “mid-flush” point of the American Toilet, either we are going to overflow, clean up the mess and thrive or things will get progressively worse and there will be no water in the bowl to flush the mess away and we will be stuck with it for awhile.  Either way, the plunger is in our President Elect’s hand and I hope he does great things with it.  I wish him well, and I pray that he can bring some sort of change that will be good for all of us, political preferences aside.  Join me, lets’ stick to our values and support those with other views so that maybe they will support some of ours, be heard and most importantly be open-minded.   Nothing great has ever happened to a person who lives each day without taking another road home or trying a different sandwich, greatness comes from going outside your box of comfort.  Be the change you want to see in the world.

Even though the election has come to an end, no great man ever has an end.  John McCain has left us all with some hero running through our veins and for that I am grateful, no matter what the next 4 years brings.  “Country first” he said…

0 Responses to “All Good Things”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

