I Will Never Forget

Riss

I have had tears in my eyes since the clock struck midnight.  Do you remember what you were doing at midnight on September 11, 2001?

I can’t, all I can remember is over sleeping and waking up to 40 missed calls and voicemail messages.  I was suppose to be in the city that day, the city that I have admired since I was a little girl.  I was going to the city partly for leisure and also because I was thinking of transferring to a different location for work which was a block away from the towers.  I remember thinking someone had died…I felt immediately ill.  I began listening to the frantic messages from my mother and I turned on the TV only to see a replay of what I had slept through…I fell to my knees.  I called my mother and said, “I am home, I overslept.” and hung up the phone.  I couldn’t really speak, I was in shock like every other American.

I sat watching the news for atleast an hour, I really thought that it was all just a bad dream…at the age of 20, I was still rather naive and thought that America was invincible.  Thinking back, when I was 20, I didn’t realize that America was hated by so many.  I didn’t think we were hated at all.  I definitely didn’t know that people hated us so much to fly our planes into our towers and kill our people.  When the towers fell to the ground, I fully realized that America would be changed forever.

We can never forget the brothers and sisters that we lost in NYC, DC and PA.  We can never forget the acts of heroism of the first responders, the people that were running in while everyone was running to get out. We can never forget the feeling we felt on 9/11 and the weeks to follow.  Remember when We The People held hands together and worked together to do what we could to help? Do you remember that brief time when we were all just Americans and nothing else mattered because we were standing together?   We can never forget that United We Stand.  We can never forget September 11, 2001.  And, I, will never forget that by God’s will, I overslept.  I will never forget.

1 Response to “I Will Never Forget”


  1. 1 Helen Gordon September 11, 2009 at 11:15 am

    Something to ponder………and share with those that I think might appreciate it.

    September 11, 2009………beginning of day 3 of the back to school week.

    Had to get my picture taken, was told to by my boss. The dreaded ID and yearbook shot.

    Just celebrated my 50th birthday earlier this week………not wanting to get that darned picture taken.

    Another school year in full swing again………blah……

    Afterward while walking up the hallway, I pondered the fact that I am lucky to be alive and fortunate to be able to have a picture taken.

    I hopped onto the internet to see what Yahoo had to say and read an article that asked how would you honor the victims of 9-11 if you could.

    My tribute is to those brave people whom I am sure were horrified in their last moments alive is that I am grateful to those who challenged adversity when faced with that crisis in the hope that they made a difference, while they never would know how it turned out. They did what they could at that moment for all of us knowing their fate had been sealed.

    So today………I personally am grateful.

    Whether you might personally be sick of hearing about 911 or are truly saddened…….find a moment to remember those people….they had families, friends and lives to live and their lives were tragically taken by terrorists.

    Have a good day….you are lucky to be alive.


Leave a Reply

