Rick Santorum Still Testing the Waters

By Caomhin

Very interesting to me on a number of fronts.  Being from Pennsylvania, I have the opportunity to know Santorum pretty well in terms of how hard of a worker he is and where his convictions lay.  It was a shame when he lost to Bob Casey in 2006, actually I was pretty upset by it, as it left us with Arlen Specter (Specter – PA), as the only “Republican” Senator the Commonwealth had, and as we all know (Republicans and Democrats alike), Sen. Specter is very much concerned with the Specter Party of PA and couldn’t care less about the GOP or the Democrats.

Casey was pretty popular in PA at the time as many people knew about his public work but not in complete detail.  Many people tend to forget that his father, an old Democrat, and someone with whom I disagreed with on many issues, but respected in general, was and is still very, very popular.  I highly doubt you’ll see the younger Casey duplicate his success in 2012 as he is so very out of touch with Pennsylvanians and in lock step with Obama, but we have a great deal of time to touch on that in the future.

I know more than a few people who know Rick Santorum personally, and I’ve never heard a negative word about the man, how he carries himself, how great he is with his family, etc.  Everything I know and have heard about him is that he’s the real deal, he walks the walk and talks the talk, he’s more concerned about doing the right thing than winning elections, which is the only attitude that’s acceptable in politics to me.  He is a tried and true conservative and strongly appeals to my fiscally conservative side and while I’m not as socially conservative as some (and yes, I am Catholic) he will have a strong appeal to that part of our coalition as well.  He is also very strong on national defense.  It’s still early in the season, but I’m very happy that he is in the discussion as we move forward.

0 Responses to “Rick Santorum Still Testing the Waters”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

