Kudos to Red State

By Caomhin

Nothing but respect for Red State and Erick Erickson for banning Truthers and Birthers from their site:

We’ve always banned truthers at RedState. Increasingly, we have also banned a number of individuals who think Barack Obama is disqualified from being President because despite the Republican Governor of Hawaii confirming the legitimacy of the Democratic President’s birth origin as a citizen of the United States these birthers (”birfers” because it sounds as crazy as they are) refuse to move on.

Today I want to reaffirm and make it more definitive. If you think 9/11 was an inside job or you really want to debate whether or not Barack Obama is an American citizen eligible to be President, RedState is not a place for you.

Birfers and Truthers are not welcome here. Period. End of Story.

The whole thing is worth a read and I commend them for taking this stance.  I have little tolerance for Truthers and Birthers, I simply cannot take them seriously at all.  I have a firm commitment to never support any candidate who takes either of these ridiculous positions.  Furthermore, I prefer not to hold conversations with them either.   In so far as candidates are concerned, I believe strongly they must disavow both of these outlandish conspiracy theories.  To be sure, there will be Truthers and Birthers who support a candidate, after all, you can not control who supports you, but it is a candidate’s responsibility to go on record and strongly disavow these positions.  I do not have tolerance for candidates and officials who entertain these whack jobs.

In an ideal world, I wouldn’t have to deal with these nuts at all, but unfortunately we do not live in a perfect world.  I do not have respect nor can I take seriously people who advocate these position regardless of political creed.  I can only hope that more people such as Erick Erickson and more sites such as Red State make their feelings crystal clear.  I have made mention of my feelings about these positions previously but not in one succinct post.  I have done so now.

0 Responses to “Kudos to Red State”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

